Safety tip

July 2016 Safety Tip - Nevada OSHA’s Asbestos Training & Licensing Requirements

In Nevada, if you are an employer who provides services which disturb materials that contain asbestos, you must ensure that specific training and licensing is obtained prior to the disturbance or removal of such materials. These requirements are outlined in the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC 618), Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS 618), and 29 CFR 1926.1101. The following is a summary of these requirements:

For the removal of surfacing material, such as ceiling acoustic & fireproofing, thermal system insulation, or any other friable removal of more than 10 sq. ft. / 25 lin. ft.: the supervisor training must be AHERA 40-hour initially with an 8-hour refresher annually, and the worker training must be AHERA 32-hour initially with an 8-hour refresher annually, each by an accredited training provider. The employer, supervisors, and workers must further be licensed by NV OSHA. NV OSHA must be notified of the project for the removal of asbestos 10-calendar days prior.

For the removal of asbestos containing materials such as, but not limited to, floor tile, wall systems, mastics, stucco, or where the material is considered non-friable removal by manual methods: the supervisor training must be AHERA 40-hour initially with an 8-hour refresher annually, and the worker training must be AHERA 32-hour initially with an 8-hour refresher annually, each by an accredited training provider. The supervisors and workers do not have to be licensed by NV OSHA.
 
For the removal of asbestos containing roofing materials or asbestos-cement products by manual methods which do not render the material friable: the supervisor must be AHERA trained 40-hour initially, and 8-hour refreshed annually by an accredited training provider. The worker training may be given by a competent person, but must be 8-hours long, include hands-on, and refreshed annually to the point that competency is achieved. The supervisors and workers do not have to be licensed by NV OSHA.

For repair & maintenance operations where materials containing asbestos generate waste from a single job that would fit into one 60” by 60” asbestos waste bag and the removal of the material’s surface area is less than 10 sq. ft. or 25 lin. ft.: the supervisor training must be AHERA 40-hour initially with an 8-hour refresher annually, and the worker training must be AHERA 16-hour initially with an 2-hour refresher annually, each by an accredited training provider. Only the supervisors must be licensed by NV OSHA in this case.

Where employees perform maintenance, custodial, or any other work activity during which employees contact or may contact, but do not disturb asbestos containing materials, employee awareness training shall be 2-hours, provided initially and annually thereafter. Training does not have to be provided by an accredited trainer. There is no requirement for employees to be licensed by NV OSHA in this instance.

For more Information, to talk to one of our consultants, or for a schedule of training courses offered at no charge by SCATS, call toll free: 1.877.4SAFENV [1-(877)-472-3368]