SCATS to offer free 10-Hour and 30-Hour OSHA Safety and Health Courses for the Entertainment Industry

SCATS offers free OSHA 10-Hour and 30-Hour Safety and Health General Industry Courses

SCATS announced the addition of the mandatory Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 10-Hour and 30-Hour Safety and Health Courses for the Entertainment Industry to its long list of free health and occupational safety training classes. Beginning Jan. 1, 2018, specific workers in the entertainment industry will need to complete an OSHA 10-hour (non-supervisory employee) or an OSHA 30-hour (supervisory employee) safety and health general industry course and receive a completion card within 15 days of hire. The OSHA 10-hour and 30-hour general industry courses will be offered at no charge from SCATS in the Las Vegas and Reno areas.

“SCATS is proud to offer the very best occupational health and safety courses to Nevada employers and employees for free. The addition of this new requirement for the entertainment industry means that employees in this industry now need to take the OSHA 10-Hour or 30-Hour general industry classes in order to meet the needs of this new law. These courses aim to maximize productivity and efficiency while reducing on the job injuries and illnesses and now will extend to this specific set of employees in our state,” said Todd Schultz, chief administrative officer for SCATS.

Nevada’s Assembly Bill 190, signed into law in 2017, requires workers to take the 10-Hour or 30-Hour Safety and Health Courses for the Entertainment Industry for the following primary occupation categories:

1.     Theatrical scenery, rigging or props

2.     Wardrobe, hair or makeup

3.     Audio, camera, projection, video or lighting equipment

4.     Any other items or parts which are related to or components of the items described in 1, 2 or 3 and which are used for or in conjunction with the presentation or production of:

o   Live entertainment

o   Filmmaking or photography, including without limitation, motion pictures

o   Television programs, including, without limitation, live broadcasts, closed-circuit broadcasts or videotape recordings and playback

o   Sporting events

o   Theatrical performances

This new requirement does not apply to volunteers or any other persons who are not paid to perform work on a site. A “site” is defined as a theater where live entertainment is performed, a sound stage, a showroom, a lounge, an arena or a remote site which has been designated as a location for the production of a motion picture or television program.

SCATS Training Schedule – OSHA 10-Hour and 30-Hour Safety and Health General Industry Courses

Las Vegas Area:

OSHA 10-Hour:

·       Dec. 6-7, 2017

o   8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

o   Must attend both days

·       Jan. 4-5, 2018

o   8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

o   Must attend both days

·       Feb. 5-6, 2018

o   8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

o   Must attend both days

OSHA 30-Hour:

·       Jan. 22-26, 2018

o   8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

o   Must attend all days

The Las Vegas area classes will take place at the SCATS office located at 1301 N. Green Valley Parkway, Suite 200, in Henderson. Visit the Las Vegas Training Schedule page to sign up and see the complete list of available classes from SCATS or call 702-486-9140.

Reno Area:

OSHA 10 Hour:

·       Jan. 17-18, 2018

o   8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.  

o   Must attend both days

OSHA 30 Hour:

·       March 5-9, 2018

o   8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

o   Must attend all days

The Reno area classes will take place at the SCATS office located at 4600 Kietzke Lane, Suite E-144, in Reno. Visit the Reno Area Training Schedule page to sign up and see the complete list of available classes from SCATS or call 775-688-3730.

The OSHA 10-hour and 30-hour courses are general industry safety and health hazard recognition and prevention programs developed by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration of the United States Department of Labor. “Trainer” of the OSHA 10-hour or 30-hour course means a person who is currently authorized by OSHA as a trainer, including, without limitation, a person who has completed the OSHA 501, the trainer course in OSHA Standards for General Industry and has been issued an OSHA trainer card.

There is an $8.00 OSHA card processing fee per participant charged by OSHA.